BIOGRAPHY :: home :: biography/awards :: filmography :: discography :: audio clips :: photo gallery :: contacts :: Italiano

Award-winning composer Andrea Guerra has written more than 100 musical scores, working with internationally acclaimed film directors from across geographies and genres including Ettore Scola, Rob Marshall, Terry George, Griffin Dunne, Maneesh Sharma, Zhang Yuan, Ferzan Ozpetek, Giuseppe Bertolucci and Gabriele Muccino.

Over the past year, Guerra has dedicated himself to creating the music for the upcoming Indian thriller Fan, directed by Maneesh Sharma and featuring Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan who plays dual roles in the film.

Other notable and recently completed projects include: the original soundtrack for Indian director Sharat Katariya's box-office hit Dum Laga Ke Haisha (English title Give It All Your Energy); Faenza's Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You, featuring the hit single Love is Requited performed by Elisa; Letters to Juliet, starring Amanda Seyfried and Vanessa Redgrave; Extraordinary Measures, with Harrison Ford; the Rob Marshall musical Nine, featuring Daniel Day-Lewis, Nicole Kidman, Penélope Cruz and Sophia Loren; the rags-to-riches drama The Pursuit of Happyness, starring Will Smith and directed by Gabriele Muccino; Hotel Rwanda, the highly acclaimed drama starring Don Cheadle and Nick Nolte.

Among his many awards, Mr. Guerra was honoured in 2007 with a Top Box Office Films prize by the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) for his score to The Pursuit of Happyness. Mr. Guerra also won the European Film Award 2005 for best composer for the drama Hotel Rwanda; and was nominated for a Golden Globe and a Grammy Award for Hotel Rwanda's closing song Million Voices which Mr. Guerra co-wrote with Haitian-American hip-hop artist Wyclef Jean and composer Jerry Duplessis.

Mr. Guerra was awarded the prestigious David di Donatello for his score to Ferzan Ozpetek's stirring 2003 drama La Finestra di Fronte (Facing Windows). The soundtrack album has sold more than 75,000 copies to date, earning a Gold Record Award, while the film’s original song Gocce di Memoria, written by Mr. Guerra and sung by Italian singer Giorgia, became a hit single in Italy, selling more than 120,000 copies. Gocce di Memoria also won a Platinum Record Award and Mr. Guerra earned two Italian Music Awards, one for best composition and another for best arrangement.

In addition to his international film work, Mr. Guerra is also active in writing scores for numerous television movies and mini-series, many in his native Italy.

Mr. Guerra was born in October 1961 in Santarcangelo di Romagna, near Rimini on Italy's Adriatic coast, and later studied composition and arrangement in Bologna with Maestro Ettore Ballotta. After moving to Rome, Mr. Guerra began his career composing music for nature documentaries. His first film soundtrack was written for the 1990 movie Viaggio d'Amore starring Omar Sharif and Lea Massari.

Major Awards:

  • Nastro D’Argento Special Award 2014 – for the music of Ettore Scola’s Che strano chiamarsi Federico
  • Nastro D’Argento 2012 – best song (Love is Requited, award shared with Elisa and Michele von Büren)
  • FICE Award 2008 – best score (Pa-ra-da)
  • ASCAP Award 2007 - Top Box Office Films (The Pursuit of Happyness)
  • European Film Award 2005 - best composer (Hotel Rwanda)
  • Golden Satellite Award 2005 - best original song (Million Voices from Hotel Rwanda, shared with Wyclef Jean and Jerry ‘Wonder’ Duplessis)
  • Apex Award 2005 - best original song (Million Voices)
  • Ravello CineMusic 2004 - best song (Che Ne Sara' di Noi)
  • David di Donatello 2003 - best composer (La Finestra di Fronte)
  • Globo d'Oro 2003 - best score (La Finestra di Fronte)
  • Ciak d'Oro 2003 - best score (La Finestra di Fronte)
  • Nastro D'Argento 2003 - best song (Gocce di Memoria)
  • Italian Music Award 2003 - best musical composition (Gocce di Memoria)
  • Italian Music Award 2003 - best arrangement (Gocce di Memoria)
  • Premio Rota 2003 for high artistic quality
  • Golden FIPA 2003 - best score (La Guerra è Finita)
  • Flaiano Film Festival 2001 - best score (Le Fate Ignoranti)
  • Italian Music Award 2001 - best score (Le Fate Ignoranti)
  • Grolla d'Oro 2001 - best composer (Tornando a Casa)
  • Valencia Film Festival 2001 - best score (Tornando a Casa)


  • Nastro D’Argento 2010 – best score (Nine)
  • David di Donatello 2008 - best original song (Tear Down These Houses from Parlami d’Amore, shared with Skin)
  • Nastro D'Argento 2007 - best score (The Pursuit of Happyness)
  • Nastro D'Argento 2006 - best score (Hotel Rwanda)
  • Grammy Award 2005 - best song written for motion picture (Million Voices)
  • Golden Globe 2005 - best original song for motion picture (Million Voices)
  • World Soundtrack Award 2005 - best original song written for film (Million Voices)
  • Fennecus Award 2005 - best original song (Million Voices)
  • David di Donatello 2005 - best composer (Cuore Sacro)
  • Nastro D'Argento 2005 - best song (Che Ne Sarà di Noi)
  • David di Donatello 2004 - best composer (Che Ne Sarà di Noi)
  • Globo d'Oro 2003 - best score (Prendimi L’Anima)
  • Nastro D'Argento 2003 - best score (La Finestra di Fronte)